Verify email Please verify your email to get 10 days of free viewing. VERIFY NOW

UEFA Nations League history like? What is the format of the competition?

Thu, 30/05/2024 - 13:23

You just watched football not too long ago, so you don't know UEFA Nations League history? As well as the format of this football tournament like? Please see the article below, because Ole Sport TV will give you a detailed and complete answer.

Introduction to the UEFA Nations League 

Before telling you the UEFA Nations League history, Olesport TV will first introduce you to this tournament. The UEFA Nations League is an international friendly football tournament for members of the European Football Union.

UEFA Nations League was held for the first time in September 2018. After the FIFA World Cup football tournament was started. This is a football tournament organized to replace international friendly tournaments. When there are many big teams in Europe, the competition will be higher.

UEFA Nations League history

In 2013, Yngve Hallén, then president of the Norwegian Football Federation, confirmed that they were discussing a football tournament with full UEFA members. But this is only in the design phase, so there is no specific plan yet.

As expected, the UEFA Nations League will include all 55 members of the European Football Federation. Based on the results, the teams will be divided into different classes. Just like the teams can be promoted or relegated based on their performance.

It is expected that the UEFA Nations League will take place on FIFA international competition days. Therefore, it will not affect domestic tournaments as well as major football tournaments such as World Cup, Euro. Finally, the UEFA Nations League was also adopted on 27 March 2014 in Astana with 54 members.

UEFA Nations League Format

Not just telling you how the UEFA Nations League history is? Website also tells you the format of this football tournament. Specifically, the 55 members of UEFA are divided into 4 different classes, from A, B, C and D. In which, Class A will have 12 teams, B has 12 teams, C has 16 teams and D has 16 teams.

In Class A, teams compete to win the UEFA Nations League history. The rest of the ranks will compete for promotion, for example, D to C, C to B, .. Of course, if there is promotion, there will be relegation, when the teams ranked last in each rank will be relegated to the league. below next season.

As of the 2020/21 season, the number of teams in each division has changed. When A, B and C ranks there will be 16 teams and D is 7 teams, but the format of the game remains the same. Most recently, UEFA vice president Zbigniew Boniek said that it is expected that 10 teams at CONMEBOL (South American Football Confederation) will participate in the UEFA Nations League from the 2024/25 season.

Each UEFA Nations League season will be divided into 2 phases of the year:

  • September to November every year is the group stage
  • In June next year will hold the final round for the top 4 teams

The UEFA Nations League Champion

Since its inception, only two teams have won the UEFA Nations League. These are Portugal in the 2018/19 season and France in the 2020/21 season. Currently, the 2022/23 season is being kicked off with the home team being the Netherlands.

When you finished watching Olesport TV's article above, you probably know how UEFA Nations League history is? As well as the format of this football tournament in detail.

Related tips